5 CACR leadership team, staff, and fellows

CACR’s chief asset is its knowledgeable and dedicated administration, staff, fellows, and students. CACR prides itself on the professional diversity of its staff, each with unique skills and experiences that contribute to its expertise. CACR staff is made up of people from all disciplines, including computer science, informatics, accounting and information systems, criminal justice, law, organizational behavior, and public policy.

CACR leadership

CACR Director, IU Executive Director for Cybersecurity Innovation, and Associate Vice President for Information Security Von Welch has more than a decade of experience developing, deploying, and providing cybersecurity for private and public sector high performance computing and distributed computing systems.

Administrative Director Leslee Bohland has more than two decades of experience in management and accounting.

Program Director Craig Jackson focuses on information security program development and governance, cybersecurity assessment design and conduct, legal and regulatory impact on information security and cyber resilience, evidence-based security, and innovative defenses.

Chief Security Analyst Mark Krenz focuses on cybersecurity operations, research, and education. He has more than two decades of experience in system and network administration and serves as the CISO for the ResearchSOC and deputy CISO of Trusted CI.

Senior Security Analyst Anurag Shankar provides leadership in regulatory compliance (HIPAA, FISMA, and DFARS) and cybersecurity risk management. He has over two decades of experience in providing research computing services and building HIPAA-compliant solutions for biomedical researchers.

Senior Project Manager Kelli Shute serves as executive director of Trusted CI and supports ResearchSOC and CACR’s election security engagement with the state of Indiana. She has more than 15 years of experience leading project teams, primarily in the private sector.

Chief Security Analyst Susan Sons focuses on secure software engineering, ICS/SCADA security, operational security practice for research and development organizations, and security for legacy technologies in high-stakes applications. She serves as deputy director of the ResearchSOC.

CACR staff

CACR staff help manage the daily operations of the center. CACR staff includes administrative, management, and external relations support, as well as security and policy analysts.

Ishan Abhinit, Asst. Deputy-CISO & Senior Security Analyst

Emily K. Adams, Principal Security Analyst

Brian Chase, Security Analyst

Diana Cimmer, Events & Communications Manager

Adrian Crenshaw, Senior Security Analyst

Austin Cushenberry, IT Support Specialist

Josh Drake, Senior Security Analyst

Will Drake, Senior Security Analyst (CACR CISO)

Tom Edelberg, Research Associate

Aditya Kanuparthi, IT Support Specialist

Ryan Kiser, Senior Security Analyst

Tori Richardson, Senior Administrative Assistant

Ranson Ricks, Senior Project Manager

Scott Russell, Senior Policy Analyst

Mike Simpson, Principal Security Analyst

Todd Stone, Business Development Director


Trusted CI Fellows 2021

The Trusted CI Fellows program empowers members of the scientific community with basic knowledge of cybersecurity and the understanding of Trusted CI’s services, and then has them serve as cybersecurity liaisons to their respective communities.

Dr. Elie Alhajjar, Army Cyber Institute

Michael Kyle, University of Delaware

Deb McCaffrey, Michigan Medicine

Amiya Maji, Purdue University

Shuyuan Metcalf, Florida State University

Matthew Peterson, Oregon State University

Mauricio Tavares, FABRIC and FAB

Richard Wagner, University of California San Diego

Fellows and key liaisons

CACR has more than a dozen Fellows. Each one brings unique insights and connections to the center, allowing it to capitalize on the interdisciplinary strengths of IU and the broader community. Fellows represent a wide range of perspectives that include law, policy, ethics, and informatics.

Mark Bruhn, IU former Associate Vice President for Assurance and Public Safety

L. Jean Camp, IU Luddy School of Informatics, Computing, and Engineering

Fred H. Cate, IU Maurer School of Law

Damir Cavar, IU College of Arts and Sciences, Department of Linguistics

Robert Cowles, Brightlite Information Security

Rachel Dockery, IU Maurer School of Law

Arjan Durressi, Department of Computer and Information Science, IUPUI

David P. Fidler, IU Maurer School of Law

Grayson Harbour, Faegre Baker Daniels LLP, Indianapolis

Daniel Hickey, IU School of Education

Apu Kapadia, IU Luddy School of Informatics, Computing, and Engineering

Asaf Lubin, IU Maurer School of Law

Nicholas Multari, Pacific Northwest National Lab, Washington

Steven Myers, Formerly of IU Luddy School of Informatics, Computing, and Engineering

Scott Orr, School of Engineering and Technology, IUPUI

Sagar Samtani, IU Kelley School of Business

Scott J. Shackelford, IU Kelley School of Business

Robert Templeman, Naval Surface Warfare Center Crane

Joseph Tomain, IU Maurer School of Law

XiaoFeng Wang, IU Luddy School of Informatics, Computing, and Engineering

Xukai Zou, Department of Computer and Information Science, IUPUI

Explore the IU Cybersecurity Community

IU Office of the Associate Vice President for Information Security




Hamilton Lugar School of Global and International Studies


IU Cybersecurity Risk Management Program


Kelley School of Business


Luddy School of Informatics, Computing, and Engineering


Maurer School of Law




Ostrom Workshop





Center for Applied Cybersecurity Research Annual Report FY2021 Copyright © 2022 by Trustees of Indiana University. All Rights Reserved.

Share This Book